The Developing Practitioner

notes.jpgIdeas/Notes
I would like to create performances that are emotional, honest, topical and address a subject in a slightly controversial way or make the audience re-look at human nature or their behaviour or even their politics…….I think I would prefer to do this using tragi-comedy. We like laughing at ourselves in Britain.

My first challenge was making sure I really looked at the photos sent by Scott Graham. I tend to rush, not look enough at the detail of a photo. I chose to go with my gut instinct on which images spoke to me the most. The first and the second. But I did what I always do wrote loads of ideas down – then asked my son and a friend what they thought of the images – they saw things I didn’t.  The position of the family for example.  I came up with the notes above. Difficult to read but my way of getting thoughts down. Then I needed to talk about it which is my favoured way of working – so with Amelia who had agreed to collaborate …..

We WhatsApped
Talked on phone
Talked in Restaurant
Talked again and emailed

I have always preferred to talk ideas out and have facilitated devised pieces with my A level groups for the last 10 years. I am familiar with the frustrations of developing them. I am also aware of how exciting the process and the final performance can be. You also ultimately steal ideas from work you have seen. The idea of interviewing people and potentially using their voices within the piece as a VO, is stolen from an excellent Dutch Theatre Company I saw perform at the ‘Be Festival’. The desire to use music has been inspired by my self study and my own performances, as well as talking with the writer on both plays we have collaborated on. You can have ideas anywhere, be inspired by an image, or a place or a picture, a poem but eventually you have to agree on something. Consider the effect on the audience. Have some sort of message or make a statement. And come up with a rough structure.
My one worry was is our idea interesting? Unique? Does it show we have really considered the images? Do we have to really analyse the images to produce a good idea? We both drew on instinct and clearly our own perceptions based on personal experiences, of the family we saw in the picture.

I would rather not create a purely dance inspired movement piece – it would not draw on my strengths. I like, visually, what movement can bring in terms of themes, a motif, a scene that can only be put across well, with the body. I like ensemble movement if it suits your purpose within the piece.
I know what I don’t like in collaboration:
Pretentious pieces with no real substance that don’t connect with the audience. Arty statements or gimmicks. I have the misfortune of being ridiculously honest. I also do what I say I will do! I struggle with people who talk, but don’t put it into practice. Amelia and I talked but also resolved and made decisions. This is vital to achieve a piece in a given time frame.
I think I have been influenced by practitioners who were popular in the 80’s and the work was very actor based. Minimal props and lighting effects. I do prefer simplicity to over busy sets. Simple messages conveyed through metaphor or movement. Grotowski and Berkoff were an influence on me. The course has opened up the possibilities of  far more interesting visuals. Incorporating lighting as a part of the storytelling will be an interesting learning curve as well as sound design being almost subliminal but powerful.